2020 Course details

The Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic is creating problems and risks for which there is no precedent. We are respecting advice from the Government and the NHS in order to manage the extent to which our members and visitors are exposed through gliding at our club. We are therefore reluctantly cancelling the  20-24 April, 11-15 May, 1-5 June and 6-10 July summer courses. We will continue to review advisory information and make a determination about further courses closer to their date.

 Bookings for courses in 2020 are open.

To make a provisional booking, you must first This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.(This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.). The Course Secretary will send you a link to an application formto confirm your provisional booking and within 10 days, please then either complete and submit the online form or post a completed form and arrange payment to Devon and Somerset Gliding Club, North Hill Airfield, Sheldon, Honiton, Devon, EX14 4QW.

Please note that your place on a course will only be allocated once your non-returnable deposit of £100 has been received along with a completed application form.  If the full outstanding balance is not received 6 weeks prior to the course start date, then your place will be reallocated to the reserve list.

Ian also holds a waiting list for cancellations.

  • Prices: DSGC Full Flying Members £347.00
  • Prices: Non-Members £546.00 (inclusive of 3 months membership)
  • Deposit: £100.00 on application, non-refundable
  • Balance payable 6 weeks before course start date

Reserved course places for new DSGC members and non-members

Two places on each course will normally be held in reserve for new members joining this year, or non-members. Six weeks before each course start date, these places will be offered to waiting list applicants / other members.

Details of currently available courses are displayed below.  Check this page regularly, as more courses may be added during the year.  If you have any further questions please contact the course secretary Ian Hunt.

P Provisional booking subject to deposit   C Confirmed Booking   N-M Non-member or New member

Summer courses 2020


Course ref.




Apr 20 - 24




Peter Field

Mike Sloggett

1) Rob Rand

2) William Pope


1) Dave Perriam (C)

2) Rick Andrews (C)

3) Mark Worsfold (C)

4) Tim Petty (C)

5) Ian Somner (N-M) (C)

6) Colin Stringer (N-M) (C)


May 11 - 15



C2 John Sillett
James Flory

1) Gordon Hutchinson
2) William Pope



1) Tim Powell (C)
2) Jim Binning (C)
3) Mike Rigby (C)
5) Mike Meatyard (N-M) (C)
6) reserved for N-M until 30 March


June 1 - 5


C3 Guy Adams
John Sillett

1) Robert Lee
2) Gordon Hutchinson
3) George Sanderson



1) Stewart Henshall (C)
5) reserved for N-M until 20 April
6) reserved for N-M until 20 April


July 6 - 10



C4 Ian Mitchell
Glenn Turpin

1) Tim Petty
2) Andrew Logan
3) Robert Lee


1) Simon Stanley (C)
2) Ollie Butler (C)
3) Toby Butler (C)
5) Richard Britton (N-M) (C)
6) Phillip Britton (N-M) (C)


August 3 - 7




Pete Harmer
James Flory

1) Jill Harmer
2) Aston Key
3) Andrew Logan

1) Mike Rigby (C)
2) Harry Rigby (C)
3) John Davis (C)
4) Sue Dyson (C)
5) Nick Bromley (N-M) (C)
6) Joshua Batchelor (N-M) (C)


August 17 - 21


C6 Mark Courtney
Steve Westlake

1) Rob Hender
2) Sally Hender
3) Dan Hender


1) Stewart Henshall (C)
2) Graham Hawker (C)
5) reserved for N-M until 6 July
6) reserved for N-M until 6 July


September 7 - 11


C7 Peter Smith
Mike Sloggett

1) Tim Petty
2) Dave Perriam

5) Robert Manuel (N-M) (P)
6) reserved for N-M until 27 July



We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of this site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

  I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive Module Information